God wants and expects for his children to grow.  Growth is natural and spontaneous; it is not logical to remain a baby forever. In the same way, in the spiritual life, you cannot be a baby all your life- you should have healthy growth in your Christian life.

1. The VALUE of discipleship.

Spiritual growth is not automatic; it needs intention, time, and effort.  There is not a pill that we can take today that will help us be spiritually mature tomorrow.  The Bible explains it as being a continuous process.

  • Maturity is product of discipleship.

Ephesians 4:14 says, “Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming.”  The main objective of discipleship is to produce spiritual maturity in the life of the believer.

  • Spiritual maturity is being like Christ.

Ephesians 4:13 says, “until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.”  Maturity is not obtained by time, privileges, or social class.  It is given by the systematic study of the Word of God.

  • Spiritual maturity has been God’s goal since the beginning.

In Genesis 1:26 it says, “Let us make man in our image.”  Even though man sinned and lost the original purpose of his Creator, Jesus Christ came to earth to die on the cross and pay for our sins to restore us so that the original goal could be met.

  • Maturity is a continuous exercise.

2 Peter 3:18 says, “But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.”  A systematic program that will help our people in their spiritual maturity is necessary and is an indispensable tool.


2. The discipleship PROCESS.

At New Life, we have a process of discipleship made up of five levels in order to accomplish a healthy growth and form the character of Christ in each believer. These are the five levels:

Level 1 develops faith.
Objective: To develop faith in Jesus Christ and Christian habits.

Level 2 develops maturity.
Objective: To develop maturity in the believers by teaching Christian values.

Level 3 gives doctrine fundamentals.
Objective: To teach every believer about the Biblical doctrine of the Assemblies of God, the organization New Life is a part of.

Level 4 develops ministry.
Objective: To teach the people to discover their profile or character so that they can serve effectively in a ministry inside the church.

Level 5 develops leadership.
Objective: To teach the people to increase their leadership potential and to teach the strategy of Life Groups.